top of page
  • dilbertsports

Finisher/Participation Medals

How many of you ever thought about running in a local race then thought "why would I pay some one $20 to $35 to run"? You might have even said to yourself, " I can't even run that fast"! Think about it. I'll wait... For me, I never thought about entering or paying for a race because I didn't want to do it alone. I also didn't want to feel like I wasted my money if I didn't win. Well around 2014 my friend Toya Rivers told me a group of ladies helped her improve her run time and that I should join them. The two ladies she introduced me to was Jackie Lyons and Elverter Ferguson who formed this group called Women Run the World Fayetteville. These ladies were practicing for a half marathon and took me on a run with them at my pace and my distance. They told me I did well and should enter a race. Scared, I accepted the challenge and was hooked ever since. I went there alone with my music and head phones because I didn't know anyone. People there at the start line was so nice. Strangers asked to take pics with me and held conversations with me until the run begin. I walked most of the 5k and was surprised when I wasn't the last person to come in. To make things better, I got a medal. Most races hand out medals to any participants that finish. Im not saying you must come in first but you must finish. I was hooked from then on and not to mention, running is the quickest way to lose weight. I lost a lot of pounds by just running. Here is a picture of all of my participation medals on a curtain rod which was a trick Michelle (my uncle Boris Dilbert other half) taught me before I learned how to make them.



To read more at https://www.fitsw.com/dilbertsports/blog/finisherparticipation-medals/



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page